Saturday , October 1 2022

MPI: Notable Biosecurity Champion


Biosecurity New Zealand today announced the winners of the 2018 New Zealand Biosecurity Awards.

Environment Southland's Fiordland Marine Pathway Management Plan won the New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award of Excellence. Their projects have also received New Zealand Biological Safety Eagle Technology Regional and Central Government Awards.

New Zealand's first Fiordland Maritime Corridor Management Plan aims to protect one of New Zealand's most important areas from marine pests carried out on the local and visiting shores.

"The New Zealand Biosafety Award is a win-win situation for iowa, environmental groups, science providers, community groups, and other organizations that are working hard to help Aotearoa be safe from pests and diseases," said Roger Smith, Congratulate local, regional and central government agencies.

"Their majestic mahi is fundamental to keeping our biological security system strong, and every day we are setting up a tough yard to keep the world's best biological security systems up."

The winners included a variety of biological safety-related projects ranging from protection of the New Zealand Kiwi industry, Tauranga Moana's biological safety excellence, improved results from kÅ kako, and innovative products such as portable shoe cleaning systems.

"This year we had a lot of high scores and it was very difficult for the judges (chairman Dr. John Hellstrom) to select the winners," said Roger Smith.

"This is a very important event because it provides a moment of pause to have time to acknowledge and respect important accomplishments within our biological safety system.

The winners of the "New Zealand Biosecurity Awards" show that biosecurity does not depend on the biosecurity of New Zealand, and all New Zealanders can stop pests and diseases from coming into New Zealand or stop them from spreading. It has a role. We all have to protect what we have. "Roger Smith said.

A complete list of New Zealand Biological Safety Award winners follows.

New Zealand Biosafety Conservation Community Award – Pirongia Te Aroaro o Kahu Restoration Society

New Zealand Biosafety GIA Industry Award – Kiwi Vine Health

New Zealand Biosafety Biological Heritage Challenge Science Prize – Scion: New Zealand Forest Research Institute

New Zealand Biosecurity AsureQuality Emerging Leadership Award – Dr. Amanda Black

New Zealand Biosecurity Te Puni KÅ Kiri MÄ Awards – Te Rangi Nanga I Te Rangi Iwi Trust

New Zealand Biological Safety Eagle Technology Regional and Central Government Awards – Environment Southland

New Zealand BioSecurity Mondiale Innovation Award – Jacson3 Limited

Best New Zealand Biological Safety Award – Environment Southland

Minister's Biological Security Award – Greg Corbett

For more information, visit

Source link