Sunday , May 29 2022

Winners of an Irish Book Awards Winners Announced 2018


Sally Rooney, Lynn Ruane, Emilie Pine, Liz Nugent, Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen led a female-dominated field of winning authors at the Dublin Irish Book Awards in Dublin on Tuesday evening.

Rooney won the prestigious novel of the Year award for her second book, Normal People, a love story with more than a touch of class, which Anne Enright in her Irish Times review called "superb". It came out on top in a shortlist which included Man Booker Prize winner Milkman by Anna Burns and From a Low and Quiet Sea by Donal Ryan, with which it shared a Man Booker longlisting and Costa Novel of the Year shortlsting. On Thursday, Rooney finds out whether she won the Waterstones Book of the Year award. Her novel is also too much adapted for BBC TV by Lenny Abrahamson.

Senator Lynn Ruane won the Non-Fiction Book of the Year for People Like Me, which Irish Times reviewer Ivana Bacik called a "compelling memoir" about her circuitous journey from Tallaght to Trinity College and the Oireachtas.

Liz Nugent has enjoyed a rare double success, winning both the Crime Fiction Book of the Year and the Ryan Tubridy Show Listeners' Choice Award for Skin Deep, her third bestseller.

The Importance of Being Aisling by Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen was an obvious winner of Popular Fiction Book of the Year, after it repeated the phenomenal success of their debut, Oh My God, What A Complete Aisling. By contrast, few would have predicted the huge commercial success of The Cow Book by John Connell (about the author's return to live on the family farm) and Notes to Self by Emilie Pine (a UCD academic's deeply personal and honest essay collection), winners respectively of Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year and Newcomer of the Year.

Maria Dickenson, awards chairperson, said: "This is a really outstanding line-up of winners. It demonstrates the absolute breadth of quality writing we have in Ireland, right across the genre spectrum. It is also great to see so many female writers winning accolades this year. Many of them, including Emilie Pine, Sarah Webb, Lynn Ruane, Cora Staunton and Sally Rooney, are all writing about what it means to be a modern woman in contemporary Ireland and it is striking that these authors used the art of writing to tell their stories in such a truthful and honest way. "

Now in its 13th year, the award ceremony took place in Dublin's Clayton Hotel, Burlington Road and was attended by Ireland's top writers, publishers, bookellers and media personalities.

Poet Thomas Kinsella received the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award, while a special award was presented to the family of author Emma Hannigan, who died this year.

More than 100,000 votes were cast to select the winners, almost double last year's tally. The public can vote for their Overall An Post Book of the Year at irishbookawards

John Crowley, Donál Ó Drisceoil, Mike Murphy and John Borgonovo won last year for Atlas of the Irish Revolution.

Source link